JSTS 2002 was held from August 9-12, 2002 at the historic Aspen Institute Wye River Conference Center. Seven Senior Scholars and seventeen Junior Scholars participated in the four-day event. Disciplines represented at JSTS 2002 included: anthropology; education; history; political science; sociology; and, literature.

Jennifer Skulte-Ouaiss, Matt Murphy, Andrew Michta have a lively discussion during one of the Political Science panels.

Matt Lungerhausen takes the opportunity to discuss his project in more detail with Senior Scholar John Lampe.

Andrew Michta displays his enthusiasm when discovering how many Junior Scholars have signed up to meet with him for one-on-one discussions.

Sabina Auger, Mara Lazda, Raymond June and Michael Heim take advantage of the free time to go hiking along one of the nearby paths.

Brian McCook, Mike Campbell, Raymond June, Ann Robertson and Matt Lungerhausen enjoy one another's conversation over lunch.

Mietek Boduszynski, Joanna Nizynska and Matt Murphy use the bikes to explore the Wye Plantation during one of the free sessions.

Laura Crago and Raymond June eagerly await an impromptu evening performance.

Andrzej Tymowski, Michael Heim and Holly Case give a dramatic reading of a play written by an international colleague.

Mietek Boduszynski and Bob Rothstein fight it out for a spot in the informal ping pong tournament finals.

Michael Campbell and Matt Lungerhausen relax in the pool room after a long day of sessions.

Ann Robertson and Laura Crago perfect their crab eating skills at the annual crab fest.

Mietek Boduszynski, David Tompkins, Matt Murphy and Michael Heim enjoy the discussion of one of the working sessions.

When it comes to volleyball, Ron Linden can not only talk the talk, but he can also walk the walk.

Junior Scholar Nathan Wood gets serious about overcoming a deficit to the Senior Scholars and Staff team.

Holly Case and David Tompkins are amazed by the skill of the Senior Scholar and Staff team.

The 2002 Volleyball Champions - The Senior Scholar and Staff Team