The Kennan Institute has selected Olga Litvin as the 2012-13 Robert H. Baraz Memorial Research Intern. The 2012-13 program year marks the 22nd year of the Kennan Institute’s Robert H. Baraz Memorial Research Internship Program. This program was established in 1991 in honor of the late Robert H. Baraz, longtime Director of the Office of Research and Analysis for the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe of the Bureau of Intelligence and Research of the U.S. Department of State. Each year, the Kennan Institute recognizes the Research Assistant who has provided the most outstanding level of service for the year.

Ms. Litvin received her undergraduate training at Sarah Lawrence College and her master’s degree from the University of Toronto. During her time with the Kennan Institute, Ms. Litvin worked with three scholars: Title VIII-Supported Research Scholars James Meyer (“Crisis of Faith: Islam and Politics in Late Imperial Russia”); Sarah Cameron (“The Hungry Steppe: Famine, Mass Violence, and the Making of the Soviet Kazakhstan”); and Yedida Kanfer (“Łódź: Industrialization, Empire, and Identity in Imperial Russia, 1880-1914”). In addition, Ms. Litvin worked with Woodrow Wilson scholars Ella Pamfilova (“Civil Society and December 2011- March 2012 Election Cycle: Negative and Positive Influence on the Vector of Russian Political Development”) and Robert Baum (“From Many Paths: A History of African Religions”).

If you are interested in making a donation to the Robert H. Baraz Memorial Internship Program, please contact Joseph Dresen at 202-691-4245 or  for more information.

Previous Robert H. Baraz Memorial Interns:

Gina Ottoboni, 1991–92
Thomas Mahalek, 1992-93 
Susanna Bolle, 1993–94
David Russell, 1994-95
Shana Hansell, 1995–96
Mark Webber, 1996–97
Kimberly Righter, 1997–98
Paul du Quenoy, 1998-99
Cynthia Neil, 1999-2000
Jon Kakasenko, 2000-2001
Olena Nikolayenko, 2001-02
Jane Buchanan, 2002-03
Adam Fuss, 2003-04
Sofia Plagakis, 2004-05
Maria Vassilieva, 2005-06
Stergos Kaloudis, 2006-07
Katherine Pruess, 2007-08
Megan Cully, 2008-09
Ekaterina Radaeva, 2009-10
Peter Piatetsky, 2010-11
Evgeniya Khilji, 2011-12