INTELLIGENCE DEVELOPMENTS OVER THE LAST CENTURY: A CHRONOLOGY

- 1916 Bureau of Investigation created in the Justice Department; renamed F.B.I. in 1935;
- 1942 Office of Strategic Services established by FDR; William Donovan appointed director;
- 1946 President Truman creates a National Intelligence Authority, a Central Intelligence Group (CIG), a Director of Central Intelligence, and an Intelligence Advisory Board;
- 1947 National Security Act of 1947 creates CIA, NSC, Secretary of Defense
- 1952 National Security Agency established, combining Army, Navy and Air Force signals intelligence;
- 1956 President Eisenhower forms Presidential Board of Consultants on Foreign Intelligence Activities as permanent watchdog entity (later renamed the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board;
- 1961 Defense Secretary McNamara creates National Reconnaissance Office (NRO), combining technical collection efforts of CIA and Air Force;
- 1974 Congress enacts the Hughes-Ryan amendment to require the President to report to the relevant committees of Congress CIA covert activities abroad;
- 1975 Seymour Hersh series in New York Times on U.S. intelligence abuses leads President Ford to appoint an investigative commission chaired by Vice President Rockefeller; House and Senate establish select investigative committees chaired by Sen. Frank Church (D-Idaho) and Rep. Otis Pike (D-N.Y.);
- 1976 Senate creates a permanent Select Committee on Intelligence to authorize and oversee intelligence community; Sen. Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii), first chairman;
- 1977 House creates Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (HPSCI); Rep. Edward Boland (D-Mass.), first chairman;
- 1978 Congress enacts Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act creating special court to review executive branch requests to conduct electronic surveillance inside the U.S. for intelligence purposes;
- 1980 Congress enacts the Intelligence Oversight Act requiring prior reporting to Congress from all intelligence agencies on all significant intelligence activities except in extraordinary circumstances when advance reporting is required only to eight designated leaders of Congress;
- 1982 Congress enacts Boland Amendment prohibiting support for contra insurgents in Nicaragua.
- 1987 Iran-contra affair exposed in which proceeds from U.S. arms sales to Iran to secure the release of hostages are used to fund the contra rebels in Nicaragua in violation of Boland Amendment. President Reagan appoints former Senator John Tower to head a Special Review Board to investigate; House and Senate conduct joint inquiry into the matter.

1989 - Congress enacts legislation establishing position of Inspector General in the CIA;

- 1991- DCI Robert Gates undertakes comprehensive reexaminations of the post-Cold War Intelligence Community, resulting in significant internal changes in CIA;
- 1992 Congress enacts Intelligence Organization Act which for first time defines the intelligence community by law and enunciates three roles of the DCI;
- 1994 CIA Agent Aldrich Ames exposed as a long-term spy for the former Soviet Union;
- 1995 Congress enacts legislation establishing a commission to study the roles and capabilities of intelligence agencies in the post-Cold War era under Chairman Harold Brown and Vice-Chairman Warren Rudman; Commission issues final report March 1, 1986.
- 2002 House and Senate intelligence committees conduct joint inquiry into Sept. 11, 12001 terrorist attacks; Congress creates Department of Homeland Security with internal intelligence analysis component in the Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection Directorate (IAIPD). Congress establishes by law National Commission on Terrorist Attacks on the United States; Tom Kean and Lee Hamilton appointed chairman and vice chairman. Commission to issue final report in 18-months (June 30, 2004).
- 2003 In January, President Bush announces creation of new Terrorist Threat Integration Center (TTIC) to be appointed by and reporting to DCI. In March, 23-year CIA veteran John O. Brennan appointed director of TTIC. Center to draw on elements of DCI's Counter-terrorist Center, FBI's Counter-terrorist Division, and the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security to fuse and analyze all-source information related to terrorism. In March, Stephen Cambone appointed by Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld as new Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence.

CHAIRMEN OF HOUSE & SENATE INTELLIGENCE COMMITTEES, 1976-2003 House: Senate:

- 1977-85 Edward P. Boland (D-Mass.)
 1985-87 Lee H. Hamilton (D-Ind.)
 1987-89 Louis Stokes (D-Ohio)
 1989-91 Anthony C. Beilenson (D-Calif.)
 1991-93 David McCurdy (D-Okla.)
 1993-95 Dan Glickman (D-Kans.)
 1995-97 Larry Combest (R-Texas)
 1997- present Porter Goss (R-Fla.
- 1976-77 Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii)
 1977-81 Birch Bayh (D-Ind.)
 1981-85 Barry Goldwater (R-Ariz.)
 1985-87 David Durenberger (R-Minn.)
 1987-93 David Boren (D-Okla.)
 1993-95 Dennis DeConcini (D-Ariz.)
 1995-97 Arlen Specter (R-Pa.)
 1997-2001 Richard Shelby (R-Al.)
 2001-2003 Bob Graham (D-Fla.)
 2003-present Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)

MEMBERS OF HOUSE PERMANENT SELECT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE 108th CONGRESS (2003-2004)

<u>Republicans</u> : (12)	Democrats: (10)
Porter J. Goss (Fla.) Doug Bereuter (Neb.) Sherwood L. Boehlert (N.Y.) Jim Gibbons (Nev.) Ray LaHood (III.) Randy "Duke Cunningham (Calif.) Peter Hoekstra (Mich.) Richard Burr (N.C.)	Jane Harman (Calif.) Alcee Hastings (Fla.) Silvestre Reyes (Tex.) Leonard L. Boswell (Ia.) Collin C. Peterson (Minn.) Bud Cramer (Ala.) Ann Eshoo (Calif.) Rush Holt (N.J.)
Terry Everett (Ala.) Elton Gallegly (Calif.) Mac Collins (Ga.) J. Dennis Hastert (Ill.), Ex Officio	Dutch Ruppersberger (Md.) Nancy Pelosi (Calif.) Ex Officio

MEMBERS OF SENATE SELECT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE 108TH CONGRESS (2003-04)

<u>Republicans</u> : (9)	Democrats: (8)
Pat Roberts (Kans.), Chairman	John D. Rockefeller IV (W.Va.), Vice-Chmn.
Orrin G. Hatch (Utah)	Carl Levin (Mich.)
Mike Dewine (Ohio)	Dianne Feinstein (Calif.)
Christopher S. Bond (Mo.)	Ron Wyden (Or.).
Trent Lott (Miss.)	Richard J. Durbin (Ill.)
Olympia J. Snowe (Me.)	Evan Bayh (Ind.)
Chuck Hagel (Neb.)	John Edwards (N.C.)
Saxby Chambliss (Ga.)	Barbara A. Mikulski (D-Md.)
John W. Warner (Va.)	