Jump to: 
Kennan Institute Advisory Council
Kennan Council
Russian Alumni Association Advisory Council
Ukrainian Alumni Association Advisory Council

The Advisory Council advises the Kennan Institute on all scholarly aspects of its work, including the review of all Research Scholarship and Short-term Grant applications. Council members, who normally serve for four years, also assist the Institute individually by advising staff members and helping to organize conferences.

Catherine Wanner
Professor of History, Anthropology and Religious Studies, Department of History and Religious Studies Program, Pennsylvania State University

Ambassador Carey Cavanaugh
Director of the Patterson School and Professor of Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution, University of Kentucky

Charles King
Professor of International Affairs and Government, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Natalia Moussienko
Modern Art Research Institute,
National Art Academy of Ukraine

Joan Neuberger
Professor, Department of History, University of Texas at Austin

Michele Rivkin-Fish
Asociate Professor, Department of Anthropology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Grace Kennan Warnecke


For over 30 years, the Kennan Institute has worked to improve American expertise and knowledge about Russia and the other successor states to the Soviet Union. Recognizing the need to build on the successes of the past, in 2001 the Institute established a private sector advisory board—the Kennan Council. Members are drawn from the worlds of business, finance, law, and public policy. The Kennan Council was founded with two goals in mind. First, it is intended to help ensure the financial strength of the Kennan Institute. Second, it enables the Institute to broaden its programming to inform and learn from the issues confronting the private sector in Russia, Ukraine, and other states in the region. Members are asked to help identify which issues, whether political, social, or economic, are of the greatest concern to the private sector, and to help with fundraising.

Mr. Christopher Kennan

Ms. Patricia Cloherty

Mr. Piotr Galitzine

Mr. Thomas E. Graham
Kissinger Associates, Inc.

Mr. James C. Langdon, Jr.
Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP

Mr. Eugene K. Lawson
Lawson International

The Honorable Thomas Pickering
Hills & Company

Mr. Paul Rodzianko

Mr. John Steele
Eli Lilly and Company

Mr. Bernard Sucher
Venture for America

Ivan Kurilla
Volgograd State University, Volgograd

Olga Malinova
Institute of Scientific Information on Social Sciences, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow

Marya Rozanova
Center for Civil, Social, Scientific and Cultural Initiatives "STRATEGIA", St. Petersburg

Evgeny Tsymbal
Film Director, Moscow

Olga Vendina
Institute of Geography, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow


Antonina Kolodii
Lviv Regional Institute of Public Administration, National Academy of Public Administration, Office of the President of Ukraine

Vitaliy Zhuhai
Ivano-Frankivsk University, Department of Journalism

Serhiy Fedunyak
Chernivtsi Yuri Fedkovych University, Department of International Relations

Oksana Nesterenko
National Law University "Yaroslav the Wise" (Kharkiv)

Nataliya Vysotska
Kyiv State Linguistic University, Theory and History of World Literature Department