W O O D R O W     W I L S O N     A W A R D S

Thursday, September 28, 2017
Reception:  6:30 p.m.
Dinner:  7:15 p.m.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
10th Street & Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C.


H.E. Fernando Henrique Cardoso
Former President of Brazil
Award for Public Service



Abraham F. Lowenthal
   Founder, Latin American Program
   Award for Public Service


Lorenzo Mendoza Giménez
   CEO, Empresas Polar
   Award for Corporate Citizenship




Kristine Tompkins
   Co-Founder, Tompkins Conservation
   Award for Corporate Citizenship


Since 1998, the Wilson Center has recognized exemplary individuals with the Woodrow Wilson Awards. At dinner ceremonies held in cities across the United States and abroad, the Wilson Center honors those who through thoughtful discussion, generous philanthropy, and selfless service have made the world a better place for all. Following this tradition, on September 28, 2017, the Wilson Center celebrated the Latin American Program's 40th anniversary honoring distinguished individuals and their work within the region.

Founded in 1977, the Latin American Program is dedicated to bridging the gap between scholarship and public policy. The Program provides non-partisan expertise to a broad community of decision makers in the United States and Latin America concerning critical policy issues facing the Hemisphere. For decades it has forged strong relationships with institutions, companies, and individuals throughout the Americas in order to deepen mutual understanding and improve policy outcomes. 

Created in 2006, the Brazil Institute seeks to foster dialogue on key issues of bilateral concern between Brazil and the United States, while advancing Washington’s understanding of the complexities of Brazil as a regional democratic power and a global player.

Two men holding awards trophy
Persio Arida presented the award to former President Fernando Henrique Cardoso

Emilio Azcarraga and Lorenzo Mendoza holding an award
Emilio Azcárraga presented the award for Lorenzo Mendoza.

Mack McLarty and Abe Lowenthal holding award
Thomas "Mack" McLarty presented the award for Abraham F. Lowenthal

Two men holding awards trophy
Ambassador Juan Gabriel Valdés presented the award for Kristine Tompkins, represented by Hernán Mladinic

Aerial view of the rotunda of a museum
The dinner was held at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.


Honorary Host Committee

Persio Arida
Bruce E. and Harriet C. Babbit
Marisol Argueta de Barillas
Antônio Britto
Louis W. Goodman
Anthony S. Harrington
William H. and Wendy W. Luers
Thomas F. "Mack" McLarty, III
Patricia Menéndez-Cambó

Moisés Naím
Diana Villiers Negroponte
Juan Esteban Orduz
Cristián Samper
Kenneth Sawyer
Woods Staton
Joesph S. Tulchin
Alexander F. Watson


Media Sponsors