Skip to main content

Woodrow Wilson Awards Honor Senator Wicker and Congresswoman McCollum

Press Contact: Ryan McKenna
Phone: (202) 691-4217


WASHINGTON – On September 27, 2021 the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, chaired by Governor Bill Haslam, will present The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Award for Congressional Service to The Honorable Roger Wicker (R-MS) and The Honorable Betty McCollum (DFL-MN.) These awards are scheduled to be presented at a dinner and ceremony at The Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

“Since the day we were founded, The Wilson Center has appreciated the significant bipartisan support it receives from Congress,” said Wilson Center President and CEO Ambassador Mark Green. “I look forward to recognizing Senator Wicker and Congresswoman McCollum for their public service and leadership, and their dedication to addressing our nation’s most pressing foreign policy challenges.”

United States Senator Roger F. Wicker has represented the state of Mississippi in the U.S. Senate since 2007. Wicker is the ranking member of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation for the 117th Congress. He is also the second-highest ranking member of the Senate Armed Services Committee.

Congresswoman Betty McCollum is a Democrat serving her eleventh term in the United States House of Representatives, representing the families of Minnesota’s Fourth District. In 2000, Congresswoman McCollum made history as only the second Minnesota woman elected to serve in Congress since statehood in 1858.

An exemplary scholar and public servant, Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan (D-NY) is credited with being the most important individual in creating and supporting the Center and its work over a period of more than three decades, from its inception until his passing in 2003. Upon his retirement from Congress in 2001, Senator Moynihan began his tenure as a Senior Public Policy Scholar. Before that, for some four decades in Congress, he was the leading force behind the historic redevelopment of Pennsylvania Avenue between the White House and the Capitol in Washington D.C. He later promoted the construction of the Ronald Reagan Building, the Center’s current home.

The Woodrow Wilson Awards are given to those individuals whose actions and accomplishments, either in their careers or through service, reflect President Woodrow Wilson’s belief that “there is no higher religion than human service. To work for the common good is the greatest creed.” Such individuals have been recognized worldwide by the Wilson Center since 1998. Those who are interested in attending or who would like to know more about sponsorship opportunities can visit:

Previous recipients of the Woodrow Wilson Award include former Vice President Dick Cheney, former Secretaries of State Dr. Henry Kissinger, General Colin Powell, Hillary Clinton, Condoleezza Rice, and Rex Tillerson, and former Secretaries of Defense Ash Carter and Chuck Hagel, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Ambassador Nikki Haley, Congressman Gregory Meeks and Senator Mike Crapo.

This event will be available to the media via Zoom. Please RSVP to Ryan McKenna with your name, title and outlet at