Skip to main content

Woodrow Wilson Awards will Recognize Stéphane Bancel and Alex Gorsky

Press Contact: Ryan McKenna
Phone: (202) 691-4217

WASHINGTON – On September 27, 2021 the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, chaired by Governor Bill Haslam will present The Woodrow Wilson Awards to Stéphane Bancel, CEO of Moderna and Alex Gorsky, CEO of Johnson & Johnson. These awards are scheduled to be presented at a dinner and ceremony at The Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC.

“Johnson & Johnson and Moderna rose to the challenge of pioneering and providing life-saving vaccines to combat COVID-19,” said Wilson Center President and CEO, Ambassador Mark Green. “Alex and Stéphane represent companies who remind us all of the power of innovation and private enterprise and the role it plays in American global engagement. While we still have a ways to go in bringing the power of vaccines to every region of the world, these leaders are giving us hope of a brighter, healthier future.”

Stéphane Bancel has served as Moderna's Chief Executive Officer since October 2011 and as a member of Moderna’s board of directors since March 2011. Before joining the Company, Mr. Bancel served for five years as Chief Executive Officer of the French diagnostics company bioMérieux SA.

Alex Gorsky is Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Johnson & Johnson, one of just seven leaders who have served in the dual role since the company was listed on the New York Stock Exchange in 1944. He began his Johnson & Johnson career in 1988, advancing through positions of increasing responsibility in sales, marketing, and management at the company, culminating in being named CEO and Chairman in 2012.

The Woodrow Wilson Awards are given to those individuals whose actions and accomplishments, either in their careers or through service, reflect President Woodrow Wilson’s belief that “there is no higher religion than human service. To work for the common good is the greatest creed.” Such individuals have been recognized worldwide by the Wilson Center since 1998. Those who are interested in attending or who would like to know more about sponsorship opportunities can visit:

Previous recipients of the Woodrow Wilson Award include former Vice President Dick Cheney, former Secretaries of State Dr. Henry Kissinger, General Colin Powell, Hillary Clinton, Condoleezza Rice, and Rex Tillerson, and former Secretaries of Defense Ash Carter and Chuck Hagel, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Ambassador Nikki Haley, Congressman Gregory Meeks and Senator Mike Crapo.

This event will be available to media via Zoom. Please RSVP to Ryan McKenna with your name, title and outlet at