Skip to main content

Canada Institute Advisory Board

The Canada Institute is unique in its dedication to producing actionable ideas that integrate new research into policy issues of bilateral importance. The Institute benefits greatly from the leadership and guidance of its Advisory Board, comprised of former ambassadors, premiers, and thought leaders recognized for their contribution to advancing the bilateral understanding, and represent leading North American enterprises. Membership in the Advisory Board enables your organization to be an active participant in the ongoing dialogue between Canada and the United States, and provides access to a marketplace of ideas where we convene today’s brightest minds to discuss the most pressing challenges and opportunities facing the policy community.

Corporate Circle 

  • Mike Fernandez, SVP & Chief Communications Officer  Enbridge
  • Gerry Bruno, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs, Vancouver Airport Authority
  • Heather Ferguson, Senior Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Ontario Power Generation
  • Ryan Hill, Director, International Government Affairs, Amgen
  • Paul Genest, Senior Vice-President, Power Corporation of Canada
  • Victor Gomez, Director, Government and Regulatory Affairs, Sun Life Financial 
  • Paul Hill, Chairman, President, and CEO, Harvard Developments, Inc., Hill Companies
  • João Castro Neves, Senior Director, International Government Relations, ExxonMobil Corporation
  • David Jacobson, Vice Chair, BMO Financial Group; former U.S. Ambassador to Canada
  • Dave Lye, Vice President, External Affairs, Ovintiv
  • Danny Fournier, Philip Morris International
  • Randy Pettipas, President and CEO, Global Public Affairs
  • Monica Masciantonio, Vice President, Government Affairs, Scotiabank 
  • Pierre Sein Pyun , Vice President, Governmental Affairs, Bombardier
  • Mayya Novakovskiy, Manager, Western Hemisphere, Chevron Corporation
  • Peter Wilkinson, Senior Vice President, Regulatory and Public Affairs, Manulife Financial
  • Everett Eissenstat, Senior Vice president, Global Public Policy – General Motors
  • Nicole Foster, Head of AWS Global AI and Canada Public Policy, Amazon

Policy Circle

  • Hon. James Blanchard, Partner, DLA Piper; former Governor of Michigan and former U.S. Ambassador to Canada
  • Hon. Jean Charest, Partner, McCarthy Tetrault LLP; former Premier of Quebec (2003-2012); Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada
  • Hon. Raymond Chrétien, Strategic Advisor, Fasken Martineau; former Canadian Ambassador to the United States
  • Drew Fagan, Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto 
  • Hon. Gordon Giffin, Partner, McKenna Long & Aldridge; former U.S. Ambassador to Canada


  • Hon. Michael F. Kergin, Senior Business Advisor, Bennett Jones LLP; former Canadian Ambassador to the United States
  • Hon. David MacNaughton, President of Palantir Canada; former Canadian Ambassador to the U.S.
  • Hon. Sergio Marchi, Corporate Board Director; former Minister of International Trade
  • Hon. David H. Wilkins, Partner, Nelson Mullins; former U.S. Ambassador to Canada