The 2006 Regional Symposium brings together senior and junior US scholars to discuss a variety of political, security, economic, historical, and cultural topics related to the relationships between the countries of the European Union (EU), North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and the countries along their Eastern borders and the Former Soviet Union. Countries include: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine. IREX administers the symposium in collaboration with the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars' Kennan Institute (WWC).

The 2006 Regional Symposium takes place in late March 2006, in the Washington, DC, metropolitan area and involves three days of reviews of current research projects, roundtable discussions, and the development of policy recommendations.

Junior scholars are chosen based on a national competition. Applicants must demonstrate a commitment to continued study, research, and work on and with the countries of the European Union and its borderlands, as well as submit developed and policy-driven research proposals. Grants will be awarded to approximately 15 junior scholars.

To apply for the Symposium please visit the IREX website.