The keynote address with Haris Silajdzic, former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, currently President of the Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina, will be webcast starting at 1:15 p.m.

To watch the live webcast, follow the links in the See Also box to the right of this screen.

The 1995 Dayton Accords ended the violent conflict that raged in Bosnia-Herzegovina from 1992 to 1995. Yet, while the fighting has ended, ten years afterwards the Dayton Accords have not been replaced by a more permanent legal foundation in Bosnia-Herzegovina. More than simply commemorating the end of a war, East European Studies proposes holding a conference to reflect on what the Dayton Accords achieved over the last decade, what remains to be done in terms of creating a cohesive and self-sustaining state in Bosnia-Herzegovina, and what role the international community can play to promote state-building there. A better understanding of the Dayton Accords will add to the knowledge of peace brokering and state-building, which has become highly relevant in terms of US Security Policy towards the wider world.

9:00 Introduction: Martin Sletzinger
9:10 Keynote: Ambassador Lawrence Butler, OHR Sarajevo

Panel 1: The Record of the Dayton Accords; Chair: Martin Sletzinger

9:30 Derek Chollet, CSIS
9:45 Gerard Toal, Virginia Polytechnic and State University
10:00 John Lampe, University of Maryland
10:15 Discussion

10:50 Coffee Break

Panel 2: Post-Dayton Institutional and Constitutional Constructs; Chair: Nida Gelazis

11:15 Sumantra Bose, London School of Economics
11:30 Henry Clark, Former US Ambassador and Brcko District Supervisor
11:45 Robert Hayden, University of Pittsburgh
12:00 Discussion

12:30 Lunch in the 6th floor dining room

Panel 3: Bosnia: The View from Within (immediately following lunch in the dining room)

1:15 Luncheon Keynote Address: Haris Silajdzic, former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, currently President of the Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina; Introduction: John Lampe
1:35 Dragan Mikerevic, Professor and former Prime Minister, Republika Srpska
1:55 Discussion

Panel 4: Bosnia's Future Chair: Samuel Wells

2:30 Milada Anna Vachudova, UNC-Chapel Hill
2:45 Obrad Kesic, TSM Global Consultants
3:00 Julian Braithwaite, Embassy of UK
3:15 Discussion
4:00 Closing remarks