Skip to main content

Woodrow Wilson Award Recipients in Canada

Since 1998, the Wilson Center has recognized such exemplary individuals with the Woodrow Wilson Awards. At dinner ceremonies held from Toronto to Tokyo and San Francisco to São Paulo, the Wilson Center honors those who through thoughtful discussion, generous philanthropy, and selfless service have made the world a better place for all of us. The Canada Institute and the Wilson Center regularly recognizes two Canadians who have demonstrated strong leadership in either business or public service through the Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship and the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service.

The Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service

The Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service is given to individuals who have served with distinction in public life and have shown a special commitment to seeking out informed opinions and thoughtful views. Recipients of this award share Woodrow Wilson’s steadfast belief in public discourse, scholarship, and the extension of the benefits of knowledge in the United States and around the world. They have poured their time, talents, and resources into improving the lives and futures of others and in so doing have inspired us all. Honorees include policymakers, philanthropists, scientists, civic and religious leaders, and celebrities who have excelled in their fields while leaving a deep, positive impact on their communities and the world at large.

  • Allan Gotlieb, C.C. (Toronto 2002)
  • Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney, P.C., C.C. (Montréal 2003)
  • Hon. Peter Lougheed, P.C., C.C., Q.C.(Calgary 2004)
  • Hon. Hilary M. Weston, C.M., O.Ont. (Toronto 2005)
  • Hon. William Davis, P.C., C.C., O.Ont, Q.C. (Toronto 2005)
  • Hon. Michael Harcourt, former Premier of British Columbia (Vancouver 2005)
  • Rt. Hon. Stephen Harper, P.C., M.P. (Calgary 2006)
  • Phylis Lambert, Founding Director, Canadian Centre for Architecture (Montréal 2007)
  • Stephen Lewis, C.C. (Toronto 2009)
  • Preston Manning, C.C. (Calgary 2010)
  • Hon. Jean Charest, P.C., MNA (Montréal 2011)
  • Rick Mercer, The Rick Mercer Report (Toronto 2013)
  • Hon. Lois Mitchell, CM,AOE,LLD, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta (Calgary 2015)
  • Hon. Douglas Mitchell, CM, AOE, QC, LLD (Calgary 2016)
  • Rt. Hon. David Johnston, former Governor General of Canada (Toronto 2016)
  • Hon. Gary Doer, former Ambassador of Canada to the United Sates; former Premier of Manitoba (Winnipeg 2016)
  • Hon. John Manley, former Deputy Prime Minister; former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada (Toronto 2019)
  • Hon. Tom Ridge, Chairman of Ridge Global; Former United States Secretary of Homeland Security (Toronto 2019)
The Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship

The Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship is given to those executives who, by their examples and their business practices, have shown a deep concern for the common good beyond the bottom line. These corporate leaders have inherited Woodrow Wilson's commitment to scholarship, public discourse, and the promotion of knowledge both at home and abroad. They work tirelessly in the service of their belief that private firms should be good citizens in their own neighborhoods and in the world at large. They understand that good citizenship can come in many forms, such as promoting renewed growth and vigor in economically disadvantaged towns and neighborhoods, supporting the arts, encouraging ties between different sectors of society, promoting international cooperation and understanding, and improving education at all levels. Recipients of this prestigious award recognize the unique, enlightened role they can play in improving society in general, while at the same time advancing the long-term interests of their firms, employees, and shareholders.

  • Peter Munk, O.C., Barrick Gold Corporation (Toronto 2002)
  • Hon. Paul Desmarais, P.C., C.C., Power Corporation of Canada (Montréal 2003)
  • Richard F. Haskayne, O.C., FCA, TransCanada Corporation (Calgary 2004)
  • W. Galen Weston, O.C., George Weston Companies (Toronto 2005)
  • William Sauder, O.C., O.B.C., Sauder Industries (Vancouver 2005)
  • Harley N. Hotchkiss, O.C., National Hockey League (Calgary 2006)
  • Laurent Beaudoin, Chairman and CEO, Bombardier (Montréal 2007)
  • Dominic D’Alessandro, O.C., Manulife Financial (Toronto 2009)
  • Charlie Fischer, Climate Change Central (Calgary 2010)
  • Monique F. Leroux, Mouvement des caisses Desjardins (Montréal 2011)
  • Isadore and Rosalie Sharp, Founders, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts (Toronto 2013)
  • Michael J. Tims, CBV, LLD, Vice Chairman, MATCO Investments Ltd. (Calgary 2016)
  • William Downe, Chief Executive Officer, BMO Financial Group (Toronto 2016)