The Africa Program at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2006 Distinguished African Scholar Awards and its African Doctoral Candidate Fellowships. The Distinguished African Scholar Award, supported by the Open Society Institute, brings senior African scholars or policymakers to the Woodrow Wilson Center in order to conduct research on topics of their choice. The recipients of the 2006 awards are Zimbabwean economist Callisto Madavo and Ghanaian economist K.Y. Amoako.

Dr. Madavo, will be joining the Wilson Center after a long career with the World Bank, where he recently served as Vice President for Africa. His research will be focused on examining the history of the World Bank's engagement in African development since independence. Dr. Amoako served for more than a decade as Executive Secretary of the United Nations' Economic Commission for Africa, the regional arm of the United Nations for the Continent. His work at the Wilson Center will focus on strengthening policy research institutions within Africa and their contribution to African development strategies.

The African Doctoral Candidate Fellowship, also supported by the Open Society Institute, is awarded annually to three American students pursuing a PhD. Recipients are invited to spend the summer researching and writing their dissertations while participating in the scholarly community at the Center.

This year's recipients are Kathryn Boswell, of Indiana University's Department of Anthropology for a study of Burkinabé repatriation in Burka Faso; E.J. Hogendoorn of Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson School, who will be studying the humanitarian impact of arms embargos, and Philip Roessler of the University of Maryland's Government Department, who will be examining neopatrimonial institutions and conflict in Sudan.

Related Links