Skip to main content

Arben Hajrullahu

Former EES Humphrey Fellow


    March 1, 2008 — August 1, 2008

    Professional affiliation

    Professor, Political Science, University of Prishtina

    Wilson Center Projects

    Peace and Stability in the Western Balkans through Integration into EU and Euro Atlantic Structures

    Full Biography

    Arben Hajrullahu Professor of Political Science at the University of Prishtina, Kosovo. He studied Political Science (primary discipline), South East European History, Comparative Public Law, Public and Communications Sciences and German at the Universities of Prishtina (1994), Graz (1995-1999), Vienna (2000-2005) and Huddersfield (2002).  He has researched and published extensively on the Western Balkans. His PhD thesis on EU-Integration and Sustainable Peace-Building in the Western Balkans won the Dr. Alois Mock Europe Foundation Award in 2005 and was published by NOMOS publishing house in October 2007.  He has worked as a freelance scientific collaborator at the Centre for Southeast European Studies since 2001.  From 2003 to 2005 he was a scientific member of the Austrian Institute for International Affairs in Vienna.  From 2007 to 2011 he acted as a freelance senior researcher at the European Academy of Bolzano.  During the academic year 2007-08 he was a Humphrey Fulbright Fellow at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a visiting scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington DC. In 2009 he founded the Centre for Political Courage (CPC).

    Personal Page

    Major Publications

    Softcompetitive authoritarianism and negative stability in Kosovo: statebuildingfrom UNMIK to EULEX and beyond, in: Southeast European and Black Sea Studies 1/2020, pp. 103 – 122.

    The Serbia Kosovo Dispute and the European Integration Perspective, in: European Foreign Affairs Review 24, no. 1, 2019, pp. 101 – 120. 

    Langfristiger Frieden am Westbalkan durch EU-Integration (Long term peace in the Western Balkans through EU-Integration), Baden-Baden 2007.