Skip to main content

Arctic 2014: Who Gets a Voice and Why It Matters

As members of the Arctic Council (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, the United States) assert their established rights under new circumstances and an increasing number of non-Arctic states (including China, Korea, Japan, and Singapore) seek an active role in the region, regional Arctic policy analysts examine the key players, their primary objectives, and the institutional framework that could guarantee fair use and security in the Arctic.