In addition to its key issue areas, the Mexico Institute works on several special initiatives:

The U.S.-Mexico Border Industry Mapping ToolThis interactive map demonstrates the unique binational nature of the border- region economies between the US and Mexico and uses comparable data available on both sides of the border, employing a consistent approach to the length on the U.S.-Mexico border and allowing a comparative view of the unique strengths of each sub-region.

"Dialogues with Mexico/Dialogos con Mexico": This ongoing speaker series brings leading speakers from Mexico to address pressing issues of interest.

Mexican Politics Resource: This page tracks major political develoments in Mexico and provides publications and analysis on the Mexican political system. The Mexico Institute's latest Mexican Politics web resource is the Mexico Institute's 2015 Elections Guide, which provides the latest polling numbers, analysis, and opinion on Mexico's 2015 midterm elections. The Mexico Institute also maintains for archival and research purposes The Mexico Institute's 2012 Elections Guide which provides a comprehensive archive on the 2012 Mexican Elections.

Congressional Outreach: The Wilson Center organizes frequent briefings on the Hill to bring analysis and discussion of U.S.-Mexico policy options to U.S. congressional audiences.  

The Public Policy Scholars Program: The Mexico Institute collaborates with the Mexican Council on Foreign Relations (COMEXI) each year for the Mexico Public Policy Scholars Program. The objective of the Program is to allow a period of advanced research and a publication about political policy, in order to bring together the academic and policy communities in the United States and in Mexico.

The Woodrow Wilson Awards: The Woodrow Wilson Award is given to those individuals whose actions and accomplishments, either in their careers or through service, reflect President Woodrow Wilson’s belief that “there is no higher religion than human service. To work for the common good is the greatest creed.” Such individuals have been recognized worldwide by The Wilson Center since 1998.

Previous awardees have included:

2004- Don Lorenzo Servitje Sendra
2005- Lorenzo H. Zambrano
2007- Licencado Don Alberto Bailléres González
2008- Don Eugenio Garza Lagüera
2010- Alfredo Achar Tussie, Miguel Mancera Aguayo
2011- Javier Bours Almada and Alejandro Marti Garcia
2013- Guadalupe Arizpe de De la Vega and Federico Terrazas Torres
2014- Claudio X. González Laporte, Ambassador Carla Hills, and Dr. Jaime Serra Puche

Quick Links